ENQUÊTE SUR LA QUALITÉ DE L'EAU - Mini étude de cas pour les détectives du climat

Brève description

Les mini-études de cas pour les Détectives du Climat ont pour but d'aider les enseignants à identifier le sujet sur lequel leur équipe de Détectives du Climat va enquêter et de les guider au cours des différentes phases du projet. Dans le modèle, les enseignants trouveront quelques suggestions de données que les élèves peuvent collecter et analyser. Ces suggestions ne sont pas exhaustives et les enseignants peuvent décider de leur propre orientation spécifique dans un domaine de recherche donné. La mini-étude de cas doit être utilisée conjointement avec le guide de l'enseignant et non comme un document autonome. 

Cette étude de cas est consacrée au thème Qualité de l'eau et les élèves étudieront l'impact du changement climatique sur la qualité de l'eau en ce qui concerne les cyanobactéries dans les lacs. Cette mini étude de cas est une production de l'ESA Education en collaboration avec l'ESERO Luxembourg.

Sujet Biologie, Science

Objectifs d'apprentissage
  • Être capable de travailler scientifiquement en collectant et en analysant des données, en faisant des observations minutieuses, en recherchant des modèles et des relations.
  • Reconnaître certains des effets du changement climatique sur les ressources en eau
  • Identifier les cyanobactéries comme des bactéries qui obtiennent de l'énergie par photosynthèse.
  • Comprendre comment les satellites d'observation de la Terre peuvent être utilisés pour surveiller la qualité de l'eau
Tranche d'âge
14 - 18 ans
Ressource disponible en :

Le saviez-vous ?

Les cyanobactéries sont des bactéries qui obtiennent de l'énergie par photosynthèse. Elles absorbent la lumière à l'aide de pigments de phycobiline (pigments photosynthétiques), qui leur donnent leur couleur bleu-vert unique, pour convertir le dioxyde de carbone et l'eau en oxygène et en glucose. Les cyanobactéries ont transformé l'atmosphère pauvre en oxygène de la Terre primitive en l'atmosphère riche en oxygène d'aujourd'hui. Le nom de cyanobactéries fait référence à leur couleur (du grec ancien κυανός (kuanós) signifiant "bleu"), d'où leur autre nom, "algues bleu-vert". Les cyanobactéries peuvent être observées et surveillées par des satellites depuis l'espace.

Images de l'espace

Découvrez comment les satellites peuvent nous aider à surveiller notre planète. Vidéo par ESERO Allemagne (en anglais).

Sentinel-3 pour les océans

Découvrez comment la mission Copernicus Sentinel-3 aide les scientifiques à comprendre la santé globale de notre planète.

INVESTIGATING WATER QUALITY – Mini Case Study for Climate Detectives

Brief description

The mini case studies for Climate Detectives are intended to help teachers to identify the topic that their Climate Detectives team will investigate and to guide them during the different phases of the project. In the template, teachers will find some suggestions of data that students can collect and analyse. The suggestions are not exhaustive, and the teachers may decide on their own specific focus within a given research area. The mini case study should be used in conjunction with the teacher guide and not as a standalone document. 

This case study is dedicated to the topic of Water Quality and students will investigate how climate change may impact water quality regarding cyanobacteria in lakes. This mini case study is an ESA Education production in collaboration with ESERO Luxembourg.

Subject Biology, Science

Learning Objectives
  • Be able to work scientifically by collecting and analysing data, making careful observations, looking for patterns and relationships
  • Recognise some of the impact of climate change in water resources
  • Identify Cyanobacteria as bacteria that obtain energy via photosynthesis
  • Understand how Earth observation satellites can be used to monitor Water Quality
Age range
14 – 18 years old
Resource available in:

Did you know?

Cyanobacteria are bacteria that obtain energy via photosynthesis. They absorb light using phycobilin pigments (photosynthetic pigments), which give them their unique blue-green colour, to convert carbon dioxide and water into oxygen and glucose. Cyanobacteria converted the early Earth’s oxygen-poor atmosphere to the oxygen-rich atmosphere of today. The name cyanobacteria refer to their colour (from Ancient Greek κυανός (kuanós) meaning ‘blue’), giving them their other name, “blue-green algae”. Cyanobacteria can be seen and monitored by satellites from space.

Global Stocktake: how space drives climate action

Almost 200 countries are gathering in Dubai to attend the biggest climate event of the year. COP28 – the 2023 United Nations climate change summit – isn’t just another conference though. For the first time,...

Land-use change

Satellite images enable us to document changes in land use very precisely. Discover how satellites provide information about land use on a global scale. Video by ESERO Germany (in English).

The Electromagnetic Spectrum – Advanced

Explore what satellites can see with their sensors and learn about the properties of the electromagnetic waves. Video by ESERO Germany (in English).

The Power of Earth Observation

We are all intricately interconnected to our Earth – from the trees that provide us with oxygen, to the natural sources that shape our landscape. ESA’s Earth observation programme is at the forefront of monitoring...