ENQUÊTE SUR LA NEIGE - Mini étude de cas pour les détectives du climat

Brève description

Les mini-études de cas pour les Détectives du Climat ont pour but d'aider les enseignants à identifier le sujet sur lequel leur équipe de Détectives du Climat va enquêter et de les guider au cours des différentes phases du projet. Dans le modèle, les enseignants trouveront quelques suggestions de données que les élèves peuvent collecter et analyser. Ces suggestions ne sont pas exhaustives et les enseignants peuvent décider de leur propre orientation spécifique dans un domaine de recherche donné. La mini-étude de cas doit être utilisée conjointement avec le guide de l'enseignant et non comme un document autonome. 

Cette étude de cas est consacrée au thème  Neige et climat et les élèves étudieront les liens entre les chutes de neige, la couverture neigeuse et le changement climatique. Cette mini-étude de cas est une production de l'ESA Education en collaboration avec l'ESERO Finlande.

Sujet Biologie, Sciences, Sciences de la Terre, Chimie 

Objectifs d'apprentissage
  • Connaître la neige et ses caractéristiques
  • Comprendre la relation entre l'enneigement et le changement climatique
  • Identifier les conséquences des changements dans la couverture neigeuse
  • Comprendre comment les satellites d'observation de la Terre peuvent être utilisés pour surveiller l'évolution de la couverture neigeuse et les épisodes d'enneigement sur plusieurs années.
Tranche d'âge
12 - 17 ans
Ressource disponible en :

Le saviez-vous ?

Les tempêtes de sable du Sahara peuvent parfois atteindre l'Europe. Lors d'une chute de neige, un cristal de neige se forme autour d'une particule de sable du Sahara. Les congères qui en résultent ont un aspect orangé, leur saleté étant visible à l'œil nu. Le phénomène se produit plus souvent dans le sud de l'Europe, par exemple dans les stations de sports d'hiver des Alpes, mais il est possible qu'il se produise presque tous les ans ou plusieurs fois par an dans le nord de l'Europe.

Piliers_des_Alpes_neigeuses

Le spectre électromagnétique - Avancé

Découvrez ce que les satellites peuvent voir avec leurs capteurs et apprenez les propriétés des ondes électromagnétiques. Vidéo par ESERO Allemagne (en anglais).

INVESTIGATING SNOW – Mini Case Study for Climate Detectives

Brief description

The mini case studies for Climate Detectives are intended to help teachers to identify the topic that their Climate Detectives team will investigate and to guide them during the different phases of the project. In the template, teachers will find some suggestions of data that students can collect and analyse. The suggestions are not exhaustive, and the teachers may decide on their own specific focus within a given research area. The mini case study should be used in conjunction with the teacher guide and not as a standalone document. 

This case study is dedicated to the topic of  Snow and Climate and students will investigate the links between snowing events, snow cover and climate change. This mini case study is an ESA Education production in collaboration with ESERO Finland.

Subject Biology, Science, Earth Science, Chemistry 

Learning Objectives
  • Gaining knowledge about snow and its characteristics
  • Understand the relation between Snow cover and Climate Change
  • Identify the consequences of changes in the snow cover
  • Understand how Earth observation satellites can be used to monitor changing snow cover and snowing events during several years
Age range
12 – 17 years old
Resource available in:

Did you know?

Sandstorms from the Sahara can sometimes travel all the way to Europe. When snowfall hits, a snow crystal forms around a particle of Sahara sand. The resulting snowdrifts look orange, their dirtiness observable with the naked eye. The phenomenon happens more often in Southern Europe, for example in the snow resorts of the Alps, but it is possible for the phenomenon to happen almost every year or several times a year in Northern Europe as well.

Snowy_Alps_pillars

Sentinel-3 for Oceans

Discover how Copernicus Sentinel-3 mission is helping scientists to understand the overall health of our planet.

Climate Change Kit

Explore ESA’s interactive Climate Change Kit   The Climate Change from Space Kit is an interactive PDF that takes the reader through...

Global Stocktake: how space drives climate action

Almost 200 countries are gathering in Dubai to attend the biggest climate event of the year. COP28 – the 2023 United Nations climate change summit – isn’t just another conference though. For the first time,...

Causes and Consequences

In this short video, Dr Natalie Douglas, a climate scientist, explains what could be some of the causes and consequences of climate change and why a 0.5 degree of temperature difference can be so important....