Die Erde unter dem Deckel - Den Treibhauseffekt verstehen

Kurzbeschreibung

In dieser Reihe von zwei AktivitĂ€ten lernen die SchĂŒlerInnen etwas ĂŒber unsere AtmosphĂ€re und die darin enthaltenen Treibhausgase, die es der Erde ermöglichen, ein bewohnbarer Planet zu sein. Ohne sie wĂŒrde das Leben, wie wir es kennen, nicht existieren. Leider ist jedoch die Zunahme der vom Menschen erzeugten
Treibhausgase verĂ€ndert die "normale" Menge dieser Gase in unserer AtmosphĂ€re und verursacht eine globale ErwĂ€rmung. Die SchĂŒlerinnen und SchĂŒler bauen ein Modell, um zu verstehen, was der Treibhauseffekt ist, und analysieren ein Video, um die Folgen einer zunehmenden Menge an Treibhausgasen zu diskutieren

Thema Geographie, Wissenschaft

Lernziele
- Erfahren Sie mehr ĂŒber den Treibhauseffekt und Treibhausgase
- Lernen Sie die positiven und negativen Folgen des Treibhauseffekts kennen
- Lernen Sie, dass es ohne den Treibhauseffekt kein Leben, wie wir es kennen, auf der Erde geben wĂŒrde.
- zu verstehen, dass der vom Menschen verursachte Anstieg des Treibhauseffekts die globale ErwÀrmung verursacht

- So fĂŒhren Sie Temperaturmessungen durch

Altersspanne
8 - 10 Jahre alt
Zeit
etwa 40 Minuten pro AktivitÀt
Ressource verfĂŒgbar in:
Aktion 1: Warum brauchen wir den Treibhauseffekt auf der Erde?

In dieser AktivitĂ€t fĂŒhren die SchĂŒler ein Experiment durch, das die Grundlagen des Treibhauseffekts veranschaulicht. Sie werden verstehen, wie der Treibhauseffekt funktioniert und welche Auswirkungen er auf die Temperaturen auf der Erde hat. Sie beantworten die Frage "Warum brauchen wir den Treibhauseffekt auf der Erde? Die SchĂŒler sollten zu dem Schluss kommen, dass er das Leben auf der Erde ermöglicht.
AusrĂŒstung (pro Gruppe)

- 2 durchsichtige GlÀser
- Boden
- Wasser
- Ein Teelöffel
- 2 Thermometer
- Frischhaltefolie
- GummibÀnder
- Klebeband
- Wenn nicht sonnig: Lampe, die WĂ€rme abstrahlt

Aktion 2: Wie beeinflussen menschliche AktivitÀten den Treibhauseffekt?

Bei dieser AktivitĂ€t sehen die SchĂŒlerInnen das Paxi-Video von ESA Education ĂŒber den Treibhauseffekt. Sie sortieren die Bilder aus dem Video nach ihrem Aussehen im Video. Das Video dient als EinfĂŒhrung in die Diskussion darĂŒber, wie menschliche AktivitĂ€ten die Menge der Treibhausgase in der ErdatmosphĂ€re erhöhen und welche Folgen dies hat.
AusrĂŒstung

- Laptop/anderes GerÀt zum Abspielen von Videos
- Projektor
- Arbeitsblatt
- Schere
- Kleber

Wussten Sie das?

Die ESA hat die Initiative zum Klimawandel (CCI) ins Leben gerufen, um zu verstehen, wie und warum sich das Klima verĂ€ndert. Die Wissenschaftler arbeiten mit Experten aus ganz Europa zusammen, um Satellitenbilder und auf der Erde durchgefĂŒhrte Messungen zu analysieren. Das CCI-Team fĂŒr Treibhausgase analysiert Messungen aus den Jahren seit 2002. Mit diesen Informationen können die Wissenschaftler die Treibhausgase in der ErdatmosphĂ€re besser ĂŒberwachen.

Der Wasserkreislauf

Kurzbeschreibung In diesem Set von sechs AktivitĂ€ten lernen die SchĂŒler*innen den Wasserkreislauf kennen und erfahren insbesondere, wie das Wasser...

Earth under the lid – Understanding the greenhouse effect

Brief description

In this set of two activities, pupils will learn about our atmosphere and the greenhouse gases that it consists what allow the Earth to be a habitable planet. Without them, life as we know it would not exist. Unfortunately, however, the increase in human-produced
greenhouse gases is altering the “normal” quantity of these gases in our atmosphere, causing global warming. Pupils will build a model to understand what the greenhouse effect is and analyse a video to discuss the consequences of an increasing amount of greenhouse gases

Subject Geography, Science

Learning Objectives
• Learn about the greenhouse effect and greenhouse gases
• Get to know the positive and negative consequences of the greenhouse effect
• Learn that without the greenhouse effect there would not be life as we know it on Earth
• Understand that the human-induced increase in the greenhouse effect is causing global warming

• To perform temperature measurements

Age range
8 – 10 years old
Time
approximately 40 minutes per activity
Resource available in:
Activity 1: Why do we need the greenhouse effect on Earth?

In this activity, students will do an experiment that demonstrates the basics of the greenhouse effect. They will understand how the greenhouse effect works and what effect it has on the temperatures on Earth. They will answer the question “Why do we need the greenhouse effect on Earth?” Students should conclude that it makes life on Earth possible.
Equipment (per group)

• 2 transparent jars
• Soil
• Water
• A teaspoon
• 2 thermometers
• Clingfilm
• Rubber bands
• Sticky tape
• If not sunny: lamp that radiates heat

Activity 2: How do human activities affect greenhouse effect?

In this activity, students see the Paxi video by ESA Education about the greenhouse effect. They will sort images taken from the video according to their appearance in the video. The video serves as an introduction to discuss how human activities are increasing the amount of greenhouse gases on Earth’s atmosphere and its consequences.
Equipment

• Laptop/other device to play video
• Projector
• Worksheet
• Scissors
• Glue

Did you know?

ESA started the Climate Change Initiative (CCI) to understand how and why the climate is changing. The scientists work together with experts from all over Europe to analyse satellite images and measurements taken on Earth. The CCI Greenhouse Gases team is analysing measurements covering the years since 2002. With this information, scientists can better monitor the greenhouse gases in Earth’s atmosphere.

Satellites observe the Earth

Satellites observe the Earth using a range of wavelengths on the electromagnetic spectrum. Discover how we can build a more complete picture of Earth’s climate by sampling the electromagnetic spectrum at multiple wavelengths.

Astro farmer

Brief description:In this set of six activities, students will investigate which factors affect plant growth, and relate these factors to...

The spatial resolution

The observation of our planet with the help of satellites largely depends on the different characteristics of their sensors. The spatial resolution, that is explained in this video, is one of these characteristics. Video by...

The spectral resolution

Earth observation satellites are guardians of our planet. Thanks to remote sensing technology and daily data collection, researchers are able to better monitor our planet’s oceans and rising sea levels from space. ESA senior advisor...