ESA signature
ESA logo
How to apply – Climate detectives
For a better experience please change your browser to CHROME, FIREFOX, OPERA or Internet Explorer.

How to apply

How to apply

How to apply?

Team up and read carefully the guidelines of the project.

In Phase 1, teams have to register online and submit their investigation plan. The NEW deadline is 30 November 2020.

Teams from a country(*) with a National Coordinator should register and submit their investigation plan through it. Teams from Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary,  Malta, the Netherlands, Romania, Switzerland, Canada, Latvia, Slovenia and Malta, have to apply to the project through the ESA Education office and the entries must be submitted in English.

Who can participate?

• Participation is open to teams from 8 up to (and including) 15 years old.
• Teams must be comprised of a minimum of two students up to the whole class.
• Each team must be supervised by a teacher or mentor acting as the team’s point of contact with ESA’s Education Office and, where applicable, with the respective National Coordinator.
•  At least 50% of the team members must have the nationality of an ESA Member State. Further to the 22 Member States, also Canada, Latvia and Slovenia, based on their agreements with ESA, qualify to fully participate in the programmes of the ESA Education Office. In the framework of the current collaboration agreement between ESA and the Republic of Malta, teams from Malta can also participate in the Climate Detectives project. (*)

National Coordinators for Climate Detectives 2020-2021:

ESERO Austria
ESERO Czech Republic
ESERO Denmark
ESERO Ireland
ESERO Luxembourg
ESERO Poland
Nordic ESERO, Norway
ESERO Portugal
Heureka, Finland
National Museum of Science and Technology, Sweden